Salma Ali

31 01 2009

“My mother was a Catholic who converted to Islam when she married my father. We performed namaaz regularly. But my faith was shattered when I came across a verse in the Quran that prescribed corporal punishment for stubborn women. I was shocked. I asked my father, who told me that it was like chiding a child for not listening to elders. “After my parents separated, I moved in with my mother, who had become extremely short-tempered and abusive. At the same time, she started attending church. I used to attend the congregations she went to, at which people danced and sang, something unheard of in Islam. It was then that I started reading the Bible. I found Christianity a far more liberating religion. My life became stable, and I started doing well in my studies. I have been praying every day ever since.” Source: Taken from the link:http://outlookindia.com/fullprint.asp?choice=2&fodname=20081027&fname=Conversions+(F)&sid=6, accessed on 17th November 2008.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

