Syed Ainul Hadeed

31 01 2009

“I was born in a rich Muslim family of Pune. My parents belonged to families with a rich religious heritage. When I was barely four, my parents separated. My mother and I moved in with my aunt in Hyderabad. From an early age I was taught Islamic traditions and I also learnt to read the Quran in Arabic. However, I went to schools run by the Jesuits and did well both in studies and sports. My mother and I shifted to Mumbai when I was in the sixth standard.

“It was during this period that I began carefully studying the Quran. However, I found I could not digest the teachings. Yet I did not stop believing in God’s existence. This was in the late 1980s. My teenage years and early adult life were difficult—failed relationships, financial hardships and my father’s death made me morose. At one point I even decided to end my life by consuming mercury. Luckily, I survived.

“It was all very strange. On the one hand I was attempting suicide, but at another level, I had an out-of-body experience. I felt my spirit drift to my old school—to the feet of Jesus Christ. I could feel his presence. After a year, I visited the school and saw the following words engraved on the pedestal on which a statue of Jesus stands to this day: ‘I am the resurrection and the Life.’ I believe the Holy Spirit had led me to Christ. Today, I am serving the Lord through the gifts that he has endowed me with.

“Naturally, some Muslim friends did not approve of my giving up Islam. The clerics questioned my change of faith. However, this only strengthened my resolve to study the Bible, the Quran, and the Hadiths. Finally, I realised that Christianity was my true calling.”

Source: Taken from the link:http://outlookindia.com/fullprint.asp?choice=2&fodname=20081027&fname=Conversions+(F)&sid=6, accessed on 17th November 2008.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

