Mamta Sagiraju Samuel

24 11 2010

At the age of 1, I was rushed into a near by hospital by my mother, only to discover that I had Meningitis and had a couple of hours to live. I had already developed symptoms of enlarged brain tissue with big lumps on my forehead indicating the final stage – a step away from death. In utter despair, making her way home, she noticed a church next to the hospital. In frail hope, she went on her knees and said in her heart “if you save my daughter I will believe that you are the living God.” She rushed me home and called all my relatives to make arrangements. But God supernaturally healed me even before they arrived. To their shock all the lumps disappeared and found me sleeping peacefully.

As I grew up hearing this, I began to believe that Jesus was the true God as he healed me. However, my mother could not take my sister and I to the church openly as we belong to a high-class Kshatriya Hindu family. Converting into the Christian Faith was unacceptable and was seen as a disgrace to the family. Sometimes, we used to sneak out of the house to attend the Sunday school and that’s where I committed my life to Jesus in the year 1995, at the age of ten. When my father discovered that we were attending church, we were totally detained from going to church. My mother was forced to give up her new faith. But I continued reading the Bible secretly in the house and praying early in life. While I could not go to church or did not have anybody to mentor me, God spoke to me through the Bible from Isaiah 41:10. This was the promise that I clung to as I was growing up. “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

I was hungry for the Word of the Lord and used to read the Bible in the bathroom while everybody was sleeping. Just like He promised, God held my hand and lead my walk with Him. As I started my college God lead me to two believing friends in my Class Eleven. They have helped me silently to grow in the Lord. We used to pray everyday gathering an hour before the college started. I was anointed in the Holy Ghost on one night while I was praying at home. Nobody laid hands or prayed over me but
God in His mercy anointed me with His Spirit. This has changed my life. One time I went to church and my father discovered that and kicked me out of the house at 10.30 in the night. As I was walking on the deserted streets, a friend noticed me and accompanied me to my close relatives house.

During these years my Dad’s business collapsed. We had to let go our factory and all the property. In a financial crisis like this my father abandoned us. This financial crisis lead me to work at the age of 15 and I never attended my college properly. I had to work and then pay my college fees. I missed attending college for the next three years. The smile on my face was erased those days. There was not a single night that I did not wet my bed in tears. Sometimes we survived on single meal a day. As a teenager I was shy, introvert and very timid and could not handle the financial pressure.

But God used this situation and worked in a mysterious way. Like the Scripture says in Roman’s 5:3-5, Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. God used my situation to bring me closer to Him. He was building my personality and character. He made a way for me to goto church.

God has been gracious and helped me clear three years in College (22 examination papers) at one go with a 76%. In this process, God had given me favor in the eyes of my family and relatives. They respected me and trusted my decisions. I was determined to just help my family and not get into any wrong relationships or addictions. I started working for an MNC and soon became a Manager on Duty at the age of 21. My father returned back to us and my mother re-committed her life to Jesus. God answered my prayer requests. My family began to let me go to church and allowed me to take part in church activities.
I began to go to Youth Alive, the youth fellowship of the New Life Assemblies of God church in Hyderabad in the year 2001 and began to help as a volunteer in the year 2002 in small ways. I began as a prayer coordinator and now support in care-cell ministry. I made some good friends at church. At office, some of us together started a prayer cell and used to meet regularly. I continued this practice even in the last organization I worked for (which was Google) and had opportunities to share my testimony to people and share the gospel. Now I believe I am at the threshold of a blossoming Ministry. I have resigned from the multinational company I worked for and I am trusting God to lead me.

For my marriage, I believed that the Prince of Peace would give my parents peace when the right time and the right proposal came. God has given me an amazing husband. I did not have to work hard to convince my parents to marry a Christian-Believer guy. For when it is from the Lord, everybody will be at peace. He will work so smoothly on your behalf. Gals! Do not waste your time chasing men, but like Ruth get going and be diligent in your work and God will bring your Boaz into your lives.

Most of the young people now are giving into peer pressure of the world. Girls, You don’t have to be hip and happening on the outside and be an empty soul inside. It is not necessary to wear revealing clothes to get the attention of the crowd or boys. Remember, your mirror doesn’t define you or show you the true U, but God’s Word reflects your image perfectly. Boys, being a freak is not cool! We are ought to be Jesus freaks! I strongly believe that we need to grow both in the sight of God and man. It is very important to save our testimony as we live our lives. Our behavior, walk, mistakes, talk, dressing all reflect the person we truly are. For every mistake, we will land up paying a great price and the consequences sometimes are very severe.
You enjoy the blessings, so…. Some of you enjoy the best of blessings unlike me in my early days. Godly parents, Good Church,
freedom to worship God, unrestricted freedom to move about, good friends, coolest technology. Please don’t exchange these blessings with wrong relationships, addictions, skipping studies and misuse of your freedom. I appeal to you do not cross
your limits and misuse the technology, knowledge and freedom. Some of you may be living in unhappy homes, but that doesn’t still give you reason to mess up your life. Jesus is our Role Model! He did not have supporting family but He never strayed! Ready for U-turn? Don’t exchange the truth of God with an empty deception. For God loves you so much and it hurts Him to see you hurt yourself. And if have been doing this, God is saying to you, “My Child, I’m waiting for you to turn back!” Are you willing to take a U-turn?

Source: http://www.indiagateway.net/g-4mission/images/the%20days%20of%20youth%20youth%20-%20issue%2023.pdf
Accessed on 24th November 2010


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 11 2010
Raj

Dear Sister Mamta,

It is a wonderful testimony. I think more youngsters and teens would enjoy reading it and may have important questions about being born again.

In Christ

Raj Kosaraju

30 06 2013
loctite adhesives

Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

Other then that, amazing blog!

Leave a Reply

