Parminder Puri

8 12 2010

Greetings to all in the name of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ! I really don’t know what to write or how to begin. But let me begin by thanking Jesus Christ.

“ Dear Jesus, I am grateful from the core of my heart that You chose us. Thank you thank You, thank You….for the heart desires nothing else now, but Your love and peace…and revelation of God the Father through the Holy Spirit.”

Something about myself & my family

I am Parminder (Sunny) from Delhi, India, a born again believer from a Sikh family.

For you to completely understand this let me go back a few years. I was born in Batala, Punjab and have lived in Delhi ever since, barring a few years when we were in Nigeria. Ours was a simple religious family. My parents are very simple people who have never hurt a soul. Dad is a Mathematics lecturer (Retd); mother is homemaker who has bound us all with her precious love. We are a family of five. I have a younger brother and a sister (married).

The Lord touched our lives in 1998 through a heart rendering miracle when He brought my sister back from the dead and delivered her completely. Just a phone call to a Christian believer did the trick! Years of worship and religious rituals, praying to other Gods and spiritual gurus failed where Jesus succeeded.

Since 80’s, our whole family was under severe satanic attacks (courtesy a close relative who lived with us). During these years endless visits to astrologers, pundits, maulvis, peers, abbacies, temples, dargahs, Gurdwaras (religious places of worship for Sikhs) failed to give us (permanent) deliverance. We had a family babaji who was a kindhearted soul and well versed with all religious scriptures. In times of trouble we would run to him and he would either perform Havans (Hindu ceremonies), tell us to chant mantras, aayats, meditate on Sikh scriptures etc. As the evil attacks (which would cause stress/unrest/arguments/mood swings) at home intensified, we, (especially my mother) used to wonder whether we would ever be free from these bondages. Most people tend to accept them as their destiny, so did we. Often we would feel strangulated at nights, and could see dark shadows around us, especially my mother. Oh how I remember what a nightmare it used to be, to remain awake in the middle of night, and feel someone trying to strangle you, only difference being you not being able to see that person.

I mean we would regularly follow religious rituals etc, so what else could we do? My mother would not even sip water before bathing, going to the Gurdwara and reading scriptures from the Granth Sahib – this was a routine with her ever since she was young and unmarried.

The brunt used to come on my mother mostly as were often involved in other activities. Had it not been for her selfless love, prayers and dedication to bind the family together, I don’t know what would have happened. My dad earlier never used to believe in existence of black magic etc but later on after some years he came to accept this bitter truth, because the family was always suffering from one thing or the other!

And yes, our Sikh scriptures would only give momentary relief but that too only sometimes. I would spend hours in my room meditating in front of pictures of Gurus etc. And there were regular serious attacks on us – near fatal accidents/illnesses. Of course I remember how tired I became at one point – rushing everywhere for peace and freedom from evil spirits – which were also affecting my health , career etc. I was on a liquid diet for many months, and had regular severe aches in tummy, for years, which could never be diagnosed. At a point of time (1992), I lost so much weight; my skin became dark and wrinkles started forming on my face. I could not even sip a cup of tea and used to envy others, seeing them gorge on simple snacks like samosa! (a favourite North Indian dish)

I still remember once when my sister almost died coughing, and my aunt who would send attacks on us through black magic (she used to stay with us) pretended to be very caring but I could sense her glee from inside. She had gifted a sweater on my sister’s birthday and as soon as my sister wore it, she went down. Oh how my poor parents must have felt at that time. I realize this now, as I add on to the years. My younger brother also was not spared of demonic attacks. I still remember my mother’s tears, she would sit down and cry and wonder what was happening and would there ever be respite from all this. Now my heart goes out to her, I can imagine how she must have felt.

My aunt it seems had pledged to wipe out our family. She had also openly confessed her jealousy for our family. Even now I shudder to think of her menacing eyes! My mother, being a very holy lady and simple at heart was shown visions many a times as to who was behind all these attacks. Even in Gurdwara she would have visions about the person who was determined to wipe us out. Once again, I would reiterate “ regular meditation of the scriptures could not save us, they can show you visions etc but cannot give permanent freedom from evil.”

Once I questioned our Babaji (spiritual leader) how he was powerful. He used to tell us that he communicated with his Guru in spiritual world. I asked him, "Can’t u get us permanent deliverance from evil spirits and make us immune to their attacks”? He said he could only keep them at bay. He told us he had stood like a rock between evil spirits and our family. I am still grateful to him for that because he used to take our troubles on him – according to him.

Then amidst many struggles, our home was sold in 1992, and we shifted to a nearby locality. But the visits of my aunt never stopped. In 1998, she gifted a hand made sweater to my sister. The moment my sister wore it, her health started deteriorating. So we again sought solace in Babaji and our scriptures & we had full faith in them. Soon my sister started losing weight, her complexion drained from her face; her eyes became big and scary and she started having hallucinations. She stopped responding to us also, at times. Of course I fought with her saying,” you are in bad company etc”. Then one day Babaji told us that the sweater gifted to my sister was sprinkled with ashes from the dead, coupled with deadly Muslim tantrik mantras, of the worst kind, whose antidote was not known.

And then the axe fell! Babaji suddenly withdrew himself. It was almost as if he had sensed something evil, and was concerned about his own safety instead! But he asked us to have faith in God and keep praying the chants, scriptures etc.

In the meantime my sister started saying that on a particular day, some bearded man would come and take her away forever. We would of course try our best to console her but she kept repeating this. Then one night my sister kept our dog Betsy, close to herself, and seemed very scared. Around 4:30 am she woke up with a loud shout, saying, ”someone is coming from the window to take her away”. My Mama (maternal uncle) took her in her lap, gave her some water and tried to talk lovingly to her, ”That its all your imagination, nothing else”. But then all of a sudden my sister raised herself half up, gave a loud scream (a sort of hiccup) and collapsed in my mother’s arms. She went lifeless. My mother became hysterical and said, ”Your sister is gone; this chapter is closed now forever”. I rushed to our neighboring doctor, from the Sikh community. He came immediately, shook my sister, checked her pulse but said nothing and instead he kept his hands on her eyes. But my sister remained lifeless.

Then it all started…..God’s awesome plan

Instead of crying at that time, I departed from that scene. I came in the living room and started thinking what should I do to save my sister now? I started pacing in the living room. I don’t know why I acted so, but I guess it was the Lord’s plan. Suddenly I remembered that I had joined a 3 months diploma course 2 years ago and a Christian man (Mr. Vincent) had come there once, and I could distinctly remember people saying that he was very powerful and that when he prayed God listened. Immediately I ransacked my cupboard for that notepad, which I used during that course. As It was God’s plan, I found it. Now I wasn’t sure whether I had written Mr. Vincent’s number or not. Slowly I started turning over the pages of the pad, looking carefully. I found the number scribbled carelessly and dialed it. Mr. Vincent did not recognize me but being a true servant of God, so humble, he asked me what was the problem. I plainly told him ,” I had heard when you pray people get healed. My sister is lifeless”. I briefed him about the recent happenings. Hardly had I spoken to him for about 5-7 minutes, when he asked me, ”Go and check your sister”. And lo, behold, she was opening her eyes! Halleluiah! Vincent uncle said, ”Your sister has been touched by Jesus and he has given her a new life”. But he also asked us to be patient and give her time to recover. Jesus broke that worse spell of black magic in no time because there is nothing impossible for our Lord and Saviour and Master!

Then he asked me, Do you have a Bible in your home?”

Let us pause here for a moment and go back in time.

This is the first life changing incident that happened in our lives in 1991, but we realized this later. Please read on ….

What happened in 1991 (a flashback)

This happened when we used to live in a joint family, before shifting our home in 1992

I was taking part in an annual college festival of IIT Delhi. After making merry we were returning home late evening, when in the IIT campus, we saw some western girls who must have been around 20-23, that’s my guess. Out of sheer curiosity, we approached them, exchanged pleasantries and asked them what were they doing there. They said they were preaching about Jesus. This dialogue took place between us. I was doing most of the talking.

Them : "Hi, do you know about Jesus? Ever heard of Him?"

Us : "Of course, He is the God of Christians".

Them : "Do you believe in Jesus?"

Us : "Well, no, but we respect all religions".

Then they said something about Him being Saviour of mankind but we were not very interested. In fact we were more amused because we believed nothing and no one was above our Gurus and Scriptures. Moreover Jesus was a foreign God for us.

Them : We would like to pray for you. Can we all join hands? Just close our eyes, keep a hand on your heart and we will pray for you.

We did as told and they offered a small prayer. Now I know it was the Lord’s prayer that they said. They gave us some hard cover book to read and said it was Bible. (It was New Testament published by Gideon’s). Then we departed.

At home I told about this incident excitedly to my folks. We tried our best to read that blue book but could not make head or tail of it. Matthew, Mark, Luke , John seemed like some stories to us. I said to myself “hey, this is not how Holy Books are supposed to be!” Our scriptures seem much more refined, and easy to read and are more spiritual. After some attempts we gave up and thought we would give this book away. Whenever we tried to dispose of that book (The New Testament) we would never find it somehow. Once I even said lets give it to the old newspaper wallah (a vendor who deals in old newspapers). But at that time we could never locate it. Praise the Lord! We soon forgot about it and soon our home was sold in 1992, much to our relief and we shifted to Tagore Garden from Rajouri Garden. We do not remember having packed this New Testament and are still clueless how (and in which package) it came to our new home. But I still distinctly remember seeing that blue book (as we used to call it) occasionally.

(The above is a flashback)

Now when Mr. Vincent asked me , ”Son, do you have any Bible”? I said no, but then suddenly I remembered, I told him I have a Christian blue hard cover book. He asked me to get it. I put him on hold and as luck would have it, found it in no time, Praise God! When I told him that the cover of this book says New Testament by Gideon’s. He said “Yes, this is the Bible”. He quickly asked me to read certain scriptures to my sister, some of them I remember are Psalms 41, 91, 23, 35. And then he told me about a weekly fellowship in his home, conducted by Mrs. Jacob. He told us to come and thank Jesus, if we wish to. I remember now when we read those Psalms they seemed to be our life story and written just for us!

Of course as soon as my sister recovered a little, we all went. Little did we realize that it would be the beginning of a new chapter in our lives. I still remember when we saw people praying loudly, singing clapping and shouting praises, we exchanged glances amongst our family to convey a message we would not come here again. Again we felt proud that our way of worship was much better and peaceful.

But God had other plans. One prayer meeting led to another. Soon my sister had a vision in a Baptist church. After that her health improved, she got married, and now she is happily settled, in glorious health and more beautiful than ever! My health also improved soon.

Then began an era of trials and tribulations from everyone….starting from my parents, society, friends etc. But praise God we as a family now believe only and only in Jesus now. We never imagined in our wildest dreams that we as mere mortals can have fellowship, relationship with our Creator. And its so easy! We never imagined we would ever pray for others or tell others about Jesus. But the ways of Lord are beyond human understanding. And now we have a regular weekly fellowship at our home. (Please pray that it continues and many people are saved.)

Moreover the promises found in Bible are not to be found anywhere. Nowhere in the Granth Sahib does any Guru promise Salvation or freedom from sins. In fact the Gurus have professed themselves to be sinners who need forgiveness for their sins. Now come to think of it, whom is the Guru seeking forgiveness from? And is it not mentioned by one of the Gurus in the Granth that whoever professes himself to be Guru will go to hell? Oh I pray that the veil be lifted from the eyes of people! Some Gurus in the Granth have even mentioned the name of “Isa” clearly. Need there be more proof that Jesus is the only way to salvation? And if all Gods are one, why could none of them (over the years) save me , my family or deliver us or promise us salvation? Why could not anyone else transform our lives and give us the peace which seemed to elude us all these years? Could any Guru/religion give us hope for an eternal life? No, definitely not! Because they are not living Gods. In fact they were not Gods at all! They were mystics who came to earth, did good things, and left the world.

But only Jesus came back to life after he died on the cross, having defeated Satan in his own battleground. And now He is alive and He listens and cares – come to think of it, only a living person can give you something, is it not? And Jesus lives – will live forever! The Bible clearly mentions that no one can come to the Father except through Jesus. Sometimes I wonder that my Sikh brothers only need a small missing link – Jesus because nothing can compete with the true devotion a Sikh has towards his guru. Oh my brothers, that true Guru is Jesus, Jesus, Jesus!

Only Jesus has proclaimed : “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live.

Of course, in the initial years, we did not really realize that the Lord has chosen us or that what did it mean to be delivered. It was only later we realized that what happened that morning in 1998 was just the beginning of a new phase, a new era – in our lives.

The phase in which we would discover

the true meaning of relationship with God
who God really is
peace of mind – His peace
the joy of praying for others
that God does care and listens to us
that God is no longer an unknown force, we knew who our prayers were being directed to
that all Gods are not one!
that there is no name above the name of Jesus
that Salvation belongeth only to Jesus
that God loves us…unconditionally!

Since 1998 it has been a slow but steady growth, and by His grace our whole family believes in Jesus now. The journey was full of trials and tribulations because Satan would never like someone to be saved but then if your heart is pure and you are true, God would never leave you, nor forsake you. Yes, it may have been hard for me to resist temptations/drop certain old habits (not acceptable to Jesus) but nevertheless Ii am so glad that the Holy Spirit has helped us in our efforts because without His grace nothing is possible.

We no longer care what others think of us, and some months ago we started a small fellowship at our home and recently a Gupta family (our neighbors) were saved. Of course the Lord performed several miracles in their lives, and during the last Diwali they performed none of the rituals they have been doing over the past years. They have also brought some relatives to our home for prayers and when we prayed together for them , God listened. So we have another family ready to accept the Lord.

My mother is so full of Spirit now a days. The Holy Spirit keeps on revealing many things to her and she is so anointed and full of His grace. Even as I write this she is counseling a lady at our home and sharing the Gospel with her. Personally my life has been transformed completely since last year. Every time I think of His unconditional love for us, my eyes get moist. Oh how much I love you Jesus, I wish I could tear my heart and show all! We may fail Him at times, but He has never failed us.

And we thank the Lord for having sent his true disciples across our way time and again, to strengthen our faith and encourage us to step out boldly in the faith.

There is so much to be done, so many people living in darkness….but we can do nothing of our own accord, we need the Holy Spirit to dwell in us 24/7. There is so much hunger in us, so much passion to spread the Gospel and tell people that Jesus is the only way to salvation.

We need all the prayers we can get, so I would request you all to please pray for our guidance, that we are able to fulfill His calling in our lives and stand witnesses to His glorious kingdom. Please pray that we remain forever humble in His presence.

God bless you all!! Amen to that.

Source: http://www.gloryofhiscross.org/testimony7.htm

Accessed on 08th December 2010.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

